2nd and Charles Spoils

2nd and Charles Spoils

2nd and Charles is a reader’s wonderland.  I love that store so much, especially because you can sell things to them for store credit, effectively getting new books for free!

These are the books and movies that I took in.  I have the digital copies of all the movies, so I figured I wouldn’t need the DVDs any more. The books are mainly from college that I wont use any more (I had two copies of Shakespeare’s complete works) with the exception of the Big Book of Everything Wedding Book, which I don’t think I even used for wedding planning.

Books and movies I traded in
Books and movies I traded in

$32 in store credit, $8 out of pocket,  and an hour and a half later, I came home with these goodies.

Books I returned home with
Books I returned home with

The two books on the bottom are ones that I tried to trade in but they did not take them because they are specialized text books, so I just brought them back home with me.

  • Starry Night Magnet – My refrigerator is seriously lacking in magnets, so I grabbed this one.  Not only do I like the painting, but it reminds me of Doctor Who as well
  • Rebel Angles by Libra Bray – This is the sequel to A Great and Terrible Beauty which I have not read yet, but did purchase on my previous trip.
  • The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – I have heard that Clare is a very good author and this series along with the Clockwork Angel series has been recommended to me. The inside description said, “Suddenly able to see deamons and the Shadowhunters who are dedicated to returning them to their own dimension, fifteen-year-old Clary Fray is drawn into this bizarre world when her bother disappears and Clay herself is almost killed by a monster.”
  • Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen – I’ve been drawn to time period pieces lately, so I thought I’d give this one a try.  I also like ya fiction, but hopefully this one isn’t too shallow.  If it is I can always trade it back to them.
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak – My coworker read this and said it’s really great.  I know that it’s going to a tear jerker, so I’ll have to read something fluffy afterwords.  Which brings the next purchase.
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic, Shopaholic takes Manhattan, and Shopaholic Ties the Knot by Spphie Kinsella.  This three book collection was the same price as the single books so I figured might as well get the most bang for my buck.  This will be a good read after any heart breakers. 
  • Beautiful Disaster by Jamie Mcguire – I know absolutely nothing about this book.  The cover was pretty so I got it.
  • Snow Angel by Jamie Carie Masopust – This one is a Christian love story about a woman who turns up on a man’s porch in Alaska during a snow storm.
  • The Nine Lives of Chloe King: The Fallen, The Stolen, and The Chosen by Braswell – A very close friend of mine was a fan of the ABC Family television show for this book.  Just like Confessions, this three book compilation was the same price as the single book, so it made the cut.  Also, it’s supernatural, which is something that I really like in ya fiction.
  • Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury – The inside cover says, “Seventeen-year-old Agnes Wilkins is about to make her debut in to 1815 London society at a lavish party, where she meets Lord Showalter, a wealthy and eligible man who collects Egyptian antiquities and who is hiding a dangerous secret.”  What’s not to like about that description!  It’s an English period piece with The Mummy-esque supernatural happenings.  Sounds like a winner.

So I think I did pretty well and I’m super excited to read them!  Which one do you think I should start with?

2 thoughts on “2nd and Charles Spoils

Leave a Reply

