Catch a Weekend Movie?

Catch a Weekend Movie?

Happy Friday!  The weekend is finally here!  If you’ve got some free time this weekend and are looking for a family friendly movie to watch, look no further.  This week I watched The Boxtrolls and thought I’d share what I thought.

Poster from Collider.com
Poster from Collider.com

I picked this one because I thought it had won the 2015 Golden Globe for Best Animated picture over Big Hero 6, which I really enjoyed.  (Only now, I found that How to Train Your Dragon 2 actually won.  It’s on Netflix, so I’m sure you all will be seeing a review on that one soon.  I’m an animation fan.)

The first thing I noticed was that this is claymation.  I am usually not a fan of claymation (with the exception of Nightmare before Christmas).  It seems grotesque to me at times.  That being said, the claymation of Boxtrolls didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would.  Either it’s really good claymation or my tastes are changing. .

The Boxtrolls is about a boy named Eggs and the daughter of the Lord of Cheesebrige, Winnie, trying to prove that the boxtrolls, a cross between a borrower and a tinker,  are not the evil monsters that Snatcher, the red hatted exterminator has made them out to be.

It starts with Snatcher, who convinces Lord Portley-Rind that the Boxtrolls are evil monsters.  He tells him that they have stolen a baby to eat and convinces him that they will steal his beloved cheese if they are not taken care of.  Lord Portley-Rind promises Snatcher a white hat, which the wealthy men in the town wear when sampling cheeses together, if he can kill every last troll.  Then the movie follows Eggs, the stolen baby, and his Boxtroll father, Fish, as he grows up thinking he is a boxtroll.  One day Snatcher takes Fish, and Eggs vows to save him.  He dresses like a regular boy, and with the help of Winnie, whom he meets one night while on a boxtroll adventure, he tries to convince the town that the boxtrolls are not the true villains, but Snatcher is.

The movie has a great moral, reminiscent of the french animated film, Un Monstre a Paris, which is also excellent.  I’m pretty sure the English version is on Netflix.  I’d give The Boxtrolls a 4 out of 5 stars.

Also, a note for parents, there is a point where you see the boxtrolls butts, like a lot of them.  So if you feel that is too inappropriate for your child, you might want to skip this one.

Has anyone else seen The Boxtrolls?  What did you all think?  Have any suggestions for other movies: leave it in the comments!

One thought on “Catch a Weekend Movie?

Leave a Reply

