What I’m Reading This Week

What I’m Reading This Week

Hello!  I hope everyone is having a lovely week!  Last week was insane around here.  There was so much to be done.  This week has slowed down some, so I’ve actually have a chance to catch up on things.  Especially reading. 

 This week the main thing I am reading is The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks. 

    After seeing the trailer for it I really wanted to read it. I’m about a two thirds of the way through and I’m loving it!  Whenever I read a chapter from Ira’s point of view I want to cry!  His love story is so sweet, an eternal love. It reminds me of me and my husband. I wonder if they will incorporate that part of the story into the movie. I haven’t seen it in any of the trailers. 

 

 I’m also reading The Stories of Richard Bausch and Genesis in the Bible. Richard Bausch was a recipient of a literary award that my college gave out so I got to meet him and I really enjoyed his philosophy of writing and his stories. Then I’m reading Genesis to get a Bible lesson together for my youth class on Sarah. 

This is a screenshot of my kindle. 

   I read a lot of ebooks ever since I found out that my library loans them out.  The top three are borrowed from them, but I’ve purchased the bottom one.

  1. Their Eyes Were Watchinng God by Zora Neale Hurston – I’m almost half way through this one.  It’s a little slow because all the dialogue is written in a southern dialect, so you practically have to read it aloud to understand some parts. 
  2. Shakespeare Saved My Life: ten years in solitary with the Bard by Laura Bates – The library was promoting this one as a state wide read.  I’ve been trying to read more nonfiction, so I figured I’d give it a whirl.
  3. Heir of Fire by Sarah Maas – This is the third book in a series that I’ve been reading about an assassin in an alternate universe where magic was outlawed and as a convenience “died.”  I’m not sure if I’m burned out on this series, but I haven’t read more than a chapter in the past two weeks.
  4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – I have already read this book a long time ago.  The whole series, including the Bloodlines spin off, was on sale a few weeks ago for $2.99 a book on all platforms, so I purchased them all.  Thought I’d reread this in my spare time when I didn’t have access to the others. (For some reason the previous three will not let me read them via web browser, so that’s when I turn to this one.)


On a side note, yesterday was National Puppy Day, so I thought I’d share some photos of mine!  I have a 2 year old mutt that we think might be a lab and ridge back named Orin, and an almost one year old Cockapoo named Roxie, who just got a hair cut!

So many pictures!

Have any of you read anything that I’m reading this week?  Feel free to leave what you’re reading this week in the comments!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading This Week

Leave a Reply

