Springtime Wreath DIY

Springtime Wreath DIY

Good Afternoon everyone!

Even though the official first day of Spring was last Friday, it has taken until this Friday to finally feel like it.  It’s extremely sunny outside and the highs are in the mid 70s!  (This makes me terrified of the summer temperatures, but we’ll get there when we get there).  To celebrate this lovely weather and season, I thought I’d share a tutorial with you on how I made my springtime front door wreath.

 At first, I thought about buying a wreath instead of making one.  The last one I made came out massive and lopsided, so I figured buying one would just be easier.  However, when I started browsing for them online I was in utter sticker shock!  The prices on them ranged anywhere from $80-$120!  I thought there is no way!  I can totally do this myself for much cheaper.  So off to Hobby Lobby I went.  Of course, you can get these items at any craft store, Hobby Lobby just happens to be the one I frequent.

These grapevine wreaths are super easy and fun to make and are totally customizable.  I’ve made two so far and used hydrangeas, but you could use sunflowers (which I might do for summer time), roses, or any other floral pieces.  Here’s a finished photo of the one on my front door.

The black blur in the corner is my puppy, Roxie.  She thinks that if something is on the floor, it's her's.
The black blur in the corner is my puppy, Roxie. She thinks that if something is on the floor, it’s her’s.

First, you will want to start off with a grapevine wreath.  They come in multiple shapes and sizes, for a relatively low price.  Here are a few examples found at Hobby Lobby.

Be aware, the one I got had leaves intertwined in the wreath so it made a mess in the back of my car.  If you’re wanting to avoid that, I would lay down a towel or blanket.  These wreaths are also considered floral, so the week that floral is on sale, these will be half off (which is when i got mine).

Next step is to add something floral, for a whole side of the wreath.  This adds some volume, but leaves you an area to personalize on the other side.  I used hydrangeas because they are big flowers of little flowers, so it didn’t take many stems to fill the wreath out.  I also chose blue because my house is brown, so it gave a nice contrast.

To add the flowers to the wreath, all I did was cut them stems really short and stuck it through.  It’s been on my storm door for about a month now, and they haven’t fallen out.  If you’re worried that this is not enough to keep them in there, you could use a hot glue gun to keep the stem secure.

Next is when you add the person touches.  There are multiple things you can add here.  I was debating between out house number or a monogram.  I already had a wooden C in a drawer somewhere in our living room so I tied it to the wreath with some brown twine.  Then, Hobby Lobby had crosses on sale so I added one of those too it as well.  It’s kind of hard to tell, but it’s a pebbled glass cross.

Here is another one I did for a friend of mine with a chalk board in the middle. 

That’s all there is to it.  It is super simple to do and shouldn’t take you more than an afternoon.  Then all you have to do it hang it on your door, or you could even display it on your mantle.

What do you think?  I’d love to hear what you would put on your springtime wreaths.  Leave it in the comments below.

And if crafting isn’t your thing, check out my latest book post on what I’m reading this week.  I just finished The Longest Ride and will be doing a review of that one soon.

-Deon

2 thoughts on “Springtime Wreath DIY

Leave a Reply

