Crossed Roses Review

Crossed Roses Review

“She doesn’t have a crush on me.  She almost ran me over with her car!”

“Isn’t that what girls do when they have crushes on boys?” – Breeana Puttroff Crossed Roses

To say I loved this book would be an understatement.  I have been anxiously awaiting this book’s release this morning.  But I didn’t have to hold out that long.  Breeana Puttroff was offering a few free copies for reviews, so I snagged one! (The squeals of joy upon receiving this might have scared my Husband a little.)

Isn’t it beautiful!

For those of you who don’t know what The Dusk Gate Chronicles are (educate yourself!), they are a collection of now seven books and a novella surrounding a girl named Quinn Robbins who becomes fascinated by an enigmatic boy from school after almost plowing him down with her car.  Bent on discovering what is going on with him, she inadvertently follows him into another world.  The series is fabulous, and this newest addition didn’t disapoint.  My only complaint is that it was too short! (Kidding, it was perfect).

Crossed Roses is a retelling of the first Dusk Gate Chronicle book Seeds of Discovery that started as a project on the author’s blog.  The first two chapters can be found there.  In Crossed Roses, we see the original story  from mainly William’s point of view with little tidbits from Nathaniel, Thomas, and Linnea as well.  So if you loved the first book, you will definitely love this one.  A few scenes are brushed over, like the Naming Ceremony where Quinn meets Alvin, but as a reader, you don’t really mind because you have already seen that.  This book offers behind the scene glances at the other characters, one of my favorites was Nathaniel’s thoughts on Toliver’s attack on Quinn.  It is also awesome to see Williams feelings for Quinn developing even before she finds her way to Deusterros.  The scene where he is eavesdropping on Zander’s conversation with his friend about asking Quinn out.

This book was fabulous.  I wish it would have went a little deeper into was William making the wooden carving of Dusk for Annie.  I would have loved to see what he was thinking while he was carving it.  I’m pretty sure he gave it to her in the second book, so it makes sense that it wasn’t added into Crossed Roses, but I noticed it was hinted at twice.

Something else I might add…. After reading this book I would suggest rearranging the order of the books to look like this:

Seeds of Discovery

Roots of Insight

Thorns of Decision

Blooms of Consequence

Crossed Roses* (I’d put it here instead of at the end)

A Christmas Rose

Canes of Divergence

Leaves of Revolution

Also, for those of you who purchase the ebook, there is a section at the end where you can enter in your email to start receiving her newsletter with an exciting Dusk Gate Chronicles announcement.  (I’m not sure if I’m allowed to reveal it on here, so I wont.  Just sign up for the news letter.)  And buy the book!  It is only available on ebook right now, but she said that it will be coming out in paperback, like the first four of the series.

She has also written an unrelated, standalone book called Rumpelstiltskin’s Daughter which is also great!

Have you read anything by Breeana Puttroff?  If so, leave your opinion in the comments.  If not, her first book Seeds of Discovery is free on most platforms (I believe), so what are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “Crossed Roses Review

Leave a Reply

