March Reading Recap

March Reading Recap

Hello lovelies.  I cannot believe March is already over!  This year has been flying by.  We’ve got something planned every weekend in April, so it looks like it will continue to fly.  It should slow down in July.  If I’m lucky.

This month was a slow reading month for me because I started a few books that I’m not going to finish.  Two of those being Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston and Shakespeare Saved My Life: ten years in solitary with the Bard by Laura Bates.  Unlike most books that I quit reading, I didn’t stop reading them because they were bad.  They are both great books.  I quit reading Their Eyes were Watching God because it is tedious to read due to the dialogue that is written in a poor southern dialect which almost takes reading aloud to understand at times.  Once I would start reading it, I loved the story, but I had to force myself to start it every time.  Finally I just moved on to something that I wanted to read.  I quit reading Shakespeare Saved My Life because my library no longer carries the ebook, which is where I was borrowing it from.  It’s a great book, and I’d love to see what happens.  I just don’t want to buy it.  Maybe they have a physical copy I can borrow.  Another book that I started, Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, goes on the not finished list.  I read the first two in the series back to back so I burned myself out a little bit.  I’ll come back to this one when the fourth, and final, book comes out later this year.

Here are the books that I actually finished this March:

march books

  1. Crossed Roses by Breeana Buttroff – 5 (billion) Stars
    I loved loved loved this book.  It is the latest book in the Dusk Gate Chronicles, and is a retelling of the first book through a different character’s point of view.  I’ve posted my thoughts on this one earlier this week here.  If you’re a fan, it’s amazing and you need to check it out.
  2. The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks – 5 Stars
    After seeing the trailer for the movie adaptation of this book I had to read it.  The two love stories intertwined in a slightly expected way and almost every chapter from Ira put me in tears (I’m an easy crier by the way). This is the third Nicholas Sparks book I’ve read and it’s definitely my favorite so far.  I’m starting another one this April.
  3. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling – 5 Stars
    I have been reading a lot of autobiographies lately so I decided to pick this one up.  I’ve loved Mindy in The Office and The Mindy Project so I thought I would like her book too.  I was totally right.  Her writing style is awesome.  She puts all of her stories in little bite size pieces so it’s easy to pick up and then put down (which is why it took me months to finish this one).  This makes it a great night time read.  Mindy is totally relatable and her stories are hilarious, so I really enjoyed it.  I’d love to hear the audiobook narrated by her.  I bet it’s even funnier.

A side note – I’m not the type of person who gives every book 5 stars.  I promise.  These books were just really good.  And another one I’m reading now has already made me laugh out loud in the first few chapters so it will probably get 5 stars as well.  I just wanted to let you all know, I’m not like Paula Abdul was in American Idol, I don’t give every okay book a golden ticket.  You can trust my 5 star rating.

I hope you all have had a great March.  Have you read any of these?  What did you think?  What have you read this March?  Share it in the comments below: I’m always looking for something else to read.

Leave a Reply

