Milk’s Favorite Cookie: Lactation Cookies Recipe

Milk’s Favorite Cookie: Lactation Cookies Recipe

As a first time, breastfeeding mom, I kind of worry about how much milk I am producing, and if it’s enough for baby Elizabeth while I’m away at work.  (I went back to work full time after 6 weeks).  Tuesday, we took her in for her four month check up, and she is just one pound shy of double her birth weight!  So she’s definitely not starving, but I still get a little worried when I come home from work, and she has drank everything that I left for her that day.  (I usually like there to be a little left over for just in case and freeze it if she doesn’t eat it the next day).

I have toyed around with a few different, non-medical aids to increase production and (for obvious, chocolate-y reasons) cookies are my favorite.  So I thought I would share my favorite lactation cookie recipe with you all.


Recipe:

3 cups oats

1 cup flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

5 tablespoons brewers yeast

3 tablespoons ground flaxseed

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tps baking soda

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

12 tablespoons lite butter

4 tablespoons extra virgin coconut oil

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg + 1 egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a large bowl, whisk together oats, flour, yeast, flaxseed, baking powder, soda, cinnamon, and salt.

In mixer beat together butter and coconut oil on medium until creamy.  Add in the sugar and mix until fluffy, scraping down the sides of the bowl if needed.  Add in the egg and yolk, until combined.  Then mix in vanilla extract.

Gradually add in the dry ingredients, beating on low speed until just combined and mixed.  Stir in the chocolate chips gently.

Bake on cookie sheet for about 10 minutes until cookies are done.

 

A few notes on the recipe:

pGNC1-3660977t300x300
Source: GNC Website

Cooking with Brewers Yeast is rough.  It’s such a fine powder that it’s easily breathed in when poured.  Like when you add Kool-Aid powder into water and the little cloud poofs up.  Breathing it in tastes/smells horrible.  Also, I got one that said “Debittered,” but boy is that stuff bitter.  The cookies were still good even though the yeast made them a little bitter.  My husband even ate a few (half a dozen).  I couldn’t find Brewers Yeast at any of my local grocery markets, so I had to go to GNC.

 

This recipe made 39 cookies of various sizes.  I used an ice cream scoop, but noticed that the cookies were too big in the first batch, so I switched to half scoops after that.  I stored them into bunches of 3s, eating one bag every week day.  While at work, the first Monday, before eating any cookies, I pumped 19.1 ounces (4 sessions for 20 minutes each).  I ate the cookies Tuesday-Friday and then on the next Monday.  That Monday, I pumped 20.8 ounces.

The cookies seemed to help by a little over 1 1/2 ounces.  I think if I ate 5 cookies instead of the three, there would be a more dramatic increase, but I am also trying to watch my calories so I just went with three at a time.

Do you have any favorite recipes that help with lactation or have you tried any other cookie recipes you would like to share?  Leave it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

