How to Have an Easier and Happier Morning!

How to Have an Easier and Happier Morning!

Hey everyone!  This week I am starting a series of “How To” posts!  I thought I would start with something that I have recently taken control of: mornings.

img_4103
Snapchat from one of my morning walks.

I don’t know about you, but I am not a morning person.  Well, okay, I can be if I have something exciting to do (like grocery shopping!), but most mornings, I do not look forward to getting up.

A morning routine can completely change how you feel when you wake up.  I know that the word “routine” makes some people cringe.  Especially those people who are busy and think that they never have the time for a routine, or that their mornings are always varied, so a routine wouldn’t work for them.  You’ll see that you don’t need a ton of time to change your mornings.  (However, I am a stay at home mom, so most mornings, I am not pressed to do things as soon as I wake up.)

My former routine looked a lot like this…  I have two dogs and a baby, which were pictured in my last post.  I would wake up, let the dogs out, nurse, and spend about an hour surfing social media (a mixture of Facebook and Instagram) while Elizabeth watches Sofia the First, Octonauts, or Care Bear Cousins.  Then we would eat breakfast, and an hour later she takes a nap while I clean up the house.

The major thing I changed was to set up constructive “me time.”  I let my puppies out and nurse the baby as usual, but instead of getting on Facebook or any other social media, we watch an episode of The Office together (yes the baby likes The Office).  Then after she eats, I put her in her bouncer and she watches an episode or two of her cartoons.  I get a cup of coffee and read something; The Bible or a book that I’m currently working on.  (This week I’m reading The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo.)  After reading, I spend time with the baby until first nap.  Then, if my husband is home, I go on a two mile walk while listening to a book or music while she naps.  If he isn’t home, we walk together after she eats breakfast, before her nap.

img_3780
I send my husband lots of walking selfies. Don’t judge.
After my walk during nap time, I cook whatever is for lunch that day and maybe catch another episode of The Office, or whatever I happen to be watching; if I have time before the baby is awake.  I only get on social media after she wakes up, and try not to stay on for more than fifteen minutes at a time.

Doing this has completely changed my mood for the day.  Carving out that “me time” makes me less grouchy.  Also, all the things going on on Facebook don’t get the chance to influence my mood when I first wake up.

So basically, it boils down to this:

To have a better morning, create an atmosphere that will make you happy.  Take charge of your day!  Do something for yourself, before you let any outside forces affect your mood.

I’ve been doing this for about a week and a half, and I (and my husband) can definitely tell a difference.

img_4164
Had a neighbor tag along.
Is there anything you all do to help you start your mornings off right?  Interested in trying a new routine?  Leave it in the comments and let me know!

2 thoughts on “How to Have an Easier and Happier Morning!

Leave a Reply

