Weekend Wrap Up: November 20th

Weekend Wrap Up: November 20th

Hello all!  I hope you had a lovely week.  It has definitely been a fast one for us.  Seems like yesterday was Sunday.  Even though it’s been a fast week, it hasn’t been too eventful.  The husband’s ankle is still on the mend from a really bad sprain, so we haven’t ventured too far from the house.

But the weather here has finally got the message that it’s fall, so everything is cooling down.  I can totally see a few family outings in our future!

img_4560
Hopefully Baby Elizabeth will be an avid reader like her parents.

What I’ve been doing most this week is reading.  I’m currently reading two books, Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and This is Where You Belong:  The Art and Science of Loving the Place You Live by Melody Warnick.  Three Dark Crowns is pretty interesting so far.  It’s a scifi, dystopian, young adult novel, so it’s right up my ally.  I’ll let you all know what I think when I finish it.  I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a series, so it will be interesting to see what Blake does to keep the story running after the first novel.  The second book, by Melody Warnick, is something I’ve been waiting to read for a really long time.    I’ve been living in the same town for the past fifteen years (over half my life), and I don’t really love it.  It’s not awful, but I have no real connection to it.  It seems like there isn’t anything to do that I haven’t already worn out.  So, I am taking this books as an opportunity to learn how to love where I am.  Once I finish it, I’ll post a review of the book, and how I am using it to change my perspective.

photo-1471897488648-5eae4ac6686bThe biggest thing that happened this week was my mom gave me my birthday present a month early.  It’s a brand new Macbook!!  I have wanted a Macbook since high school, so I’m super excited.  Hopefully this means you all will be hearing from me more often.  (The first post I published can be found here.)

I’m also really excited to see what next week has in store for us.  This will be the baby’s first Thanksgiving, and we are decorating for Christmas.  I always wait until after Thanksgiving because it’s my favorite holiday.  The first half of the week will be spent hunting down all of my Christmas decorations.  Elizabeth was due on the 24th, so we didn’t decorate for Christmas last year because no one wants to take decorations down when you could be sleeping with your newborn.  So it will be nice to have the house all festive this year.  We might even put up lights on our porch like my in-laws did.

How was your week?  Did you do anything exciting or have any plans for next week?  Let me know by leaving it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

