Thanksgiving Weekend Wrap Up

Thanksgiving Weekend Wrap Up

img_4640

I hope you all had a happy Thanksgiving weekend!  Ours was great!  I live really close to both my parents and my in-laws, so we always have two feasts.

Thursday.  My side of the family in the early afternoon, around 12 to 1, and my in-laws in the late evening, around 5 or 6.  This year, my Grandma decided that she didn’t want to go all out for Thanksgiving dinner since they always cook way too much and have to do it again only a month later.  So, we had a fish fry.  When I first found out that’s what we were doing, I was a little upset.  My grandma makes the absolute best dressing (or stuffing).  I’m sure that’s what everyone thinks, but it’s true.  Her’s is the best.  Also, my mother and I are not big fans of fried fish.  Baked, I’m there, but fried not so much.  Especially catfish.  Surprisingly it wasn’t bad.  I actually enjoyed it.  I brought along a corn casserole, and it was a huge hit.  Then I went over to my in-laws for the traditional Thanksgiving meal.  Definitely glad I got some turkey!  I think baby Elizabeth’s favorite part was the deviled eggs.  She devoured two of them!!

Friday I decided not to go Black Friday shopping since and was super excited to decorate forimg_4664 Christmas.  I composed my Christmas playlists (which can be found here) and pulled down my Christmas tree box, but when I opened the tree box it was empty!  I had totally forgot that I had thrown it away two years ago, so we could get a better tree this year.  The old one was super dinky.  So decorating has been put off until Tuesday, when we can go out and get a tree.  I think I’ve got the one I want picked out at Target.  It’s 7 and 1/2 feet tall, which will be the tallest tree we’ve ever had.  Our last one was only 5 1/2 feet.

 

Saturday was a ton of fun!  My husband and I spent the day “unplugged” and had an awesome day.  I think we’ll do this more often.  It was nice not being distracted by the outside world and being able to focus on each other and our relationship.  We are big fans of board games so we played Battleship and Uno.  We were going to play Yahtzee, but I’ve misplaced the dice.  That night we wrapped up the day with one of his favorite meals, Cheeseburger Goulash.  I also started weening the baby from nursing on Saturday.  I’m thinking I’ll write a post about that whenever I’m finished.

In case you missed them, I’m going to start adding the weeks blog posts to my weekend wrap ups.  This weeks posts:

Decking the Halls: My Christmas Playlist

One to Rule Them All: A Three Dark Crowns Review

Yummy Tummy Tuna Casserole: Quick Meals #2

This week looks like it’s going to be a relatively busy one.  We’ve got to get our puppy fixed, decorations for the baby’s first birthday party next weekend, and all the Christmas stuff up.  We also have a Secret Sister party with my church.

How was your Thanksgiving?  Did you do anything out of the ordinary like a fish fry?  Leave it in the comments and let me know!

Leave a Reply

