Decking the Halls Part Two: Christmas Tree!

Decking the Halls Part Two: Christmas Tree!

Hello everyone!  I am pleased to announce that my Christmas tree is FINALLY UP!! YAY!

img_4722

I wanted to put it up the day after Thanksgiving, but when I pulled down the tree box it was empty.  I forgot that I had thrown it away to get a better one.  The first tree we had was pretty small.  This is probably the biggest tree I’ve ever had, it’s 7 feet tall and takes up a big chunk of my small living room.

img_4724

When we first put it up, I was really worried about Baby Elizabeth trying to pull it down or constantly messing with it.  I almost got a baby gate to wrap around it to keep her off of it. I’m glad I didn’t, cause she is completely uninterested it.  Before we put the ornaments on, she touched it, and I don’t think she liked how bristly it was.  So it’s all the other decorations I have to chase after her for.  I think once she realizes that the candy canes on the tree are actually candy she might be more interested.

img_4702

This year I’ve even decided to make a few ornaments myself.  So far I’ve only made one, but I’m going to try to make a few more for my bookshelves.

img_4726
Yes, I’m watching Hairspray. I’ve been wanting to see it ever since I saw the commercial for NBC’s live musical.

My favorite thing to do when the house is all decked out for Christmas is to sit in the living room with the main lights out and the twinkly lights on.  It brings a peace that’s a little hard to explain.  It’s cosy and safe.  I could just sit in the lights with a cup of coffee/tea/hot chocolate forever.

How are your Christmas decorations coming along?  Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

