2017 Reading Challenges!

2017 Reading Challenges!

Hello everyone!  2016 is coming to a swift end, and I know these last few days are going to fly by!

img_68086091c682-1

 

I love to read and have been doing the Goodreads Reading Challenges for a while now.  My 2015 goal was 25 books, and I read (or reread) 36.  This year, my goal was 30, and I am actually on my 36th book now.  So I’ve decided this coming year I am going to try to read 37 books.

I’ve got two strategies to help me get to that goal.  One is Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2017 reading challenge, and the other is preparing for the North Texas Teen Book Festival.

yvl081tvnva-worthy-of-elegance

My husband and I went to the NTTBF last year and had a blast!  I think I read seven books before we went so I could listen to lots of different authors.  It is in March this year (on our anniversary weekend).  Since that’s three months away, I’d like to try and read ten to fifteen books for it, which I’ll try to fit into the MMD Challenge.

Next is the MMD Challenge.  Her original post for the challenge can be found here.  She gives you two different options to follow, and I think I’m going to try them both.  (I’ll put NTTBF next to the ones that are by people I’ll see in March.) Also, I’m going to try to pick books that are available at my local library or that I already own, cause I’ve got a ton of books on my shelves I haven’t touched yet!  Here is the first:

reading-challenge-02

  1. A Book You Chose for the Cover – And I Darken by Kiersten White NTTBF.  My favorite color is purple, and when I saw those purple flowers on the cover, I really wanted to pick this one up.  I’ll probably read the physical copy of this one since the cover is so cute, instead of the eBook.
  2. A book with a reputation for being un-put-down-able – A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarrah J. Maas.  I’ve wanted to read this one for a hot minute and everyone I follow on Goodreads have loved it.  I’ve read a few books in her other series, but I haven’t finished that series yet either.
  3. A book set somewhere you’ve never been, but would like to visit – The X-Files: Agent of Chaos by Kami Garcia NTTBF.  This is about how Fox Mulder became a believer.  I’ve watched most of the X-Files and loved them.  The reason I chose it for this category is because the only place I’ve been on that coast is Florida, and I’ve always wanted to visit the New England area.
  4. A book You’ve Already Read – Thorns of Decision by Breeana Puttroff.  I reread this series several times and didn’t get around to rereading all of them this year.  I only reread the first two, so I’d pick up with the third one instead of starting over.
  5. A juicy memoir – Down the Rabbit Hole: Curious Adventures and Cautionary Tales of a Former Playboy Bunny by Holly Madison.  This book was a runner up for last years Goodreads prize.  So, this looks super interesting and out of my comfort zone.  My library has the audiobook narrated by the author.  If it’s too “out there” for me, I’ll try Furiously Happy by Jenny Larson which I own, but haven’t read yet.
  6. A book about books or reading – The Book Theif by Markus Zusak.  I bought this book and have been meaning to read it, but haven’t gotten to it yet.
  7. A book in a genre you usually avoid – One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies  by Sonya Sones NTTBF.  This book is written in verse.  I’ve never read one like that and even though I like poetry, have always thought that I would’t be too interested in it.  But here I am, trying something new.
  8. A book you don’t want to admit that you’re dying to read – Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins NTTBF.  This is one that I’ve wanted to read for a while.  I feel that it’s going to be light, fluffy, and predictable, but I still want to read it.
  9. A book in the blacklist of a new favorite author
  10. A book recommended by someone with great taste – The Uninvited by Liz Jensen.  My friend Keely recommended this to me.  If I remember correctly, it’s a really short audiobook.
  11. A book you were excited to buy or borrow but haven’t read yet – Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry.  I read Rot and Ruin for NTTBF and really liked it.  Then while at the festival, I bought the second book in the series.  I’ve been really excited to read it, but every time I go to pick it up, I grab another book instead for one reason or another.  It’s time I read it.
  12. A book about a topic or subject you already love – City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.  I’ve read almost all of the Infernal Devices trilogy and have loved it.  Since they are set in the same universe, I bet I’d like this series a lot.

Here is her other challenge

reading-challenge-03

  1. A Newbery Award winner or Honor book – A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle.  I’ve heard great things about this one, but never read it in middle school.
  2. A book in translation – The Stranger by Albert Camus.  I read this book in an upper level French class in college.  I remember the basic premise, but since I am not fluent in French, it was a hard read and I skipped a few parts.  So I’d like to actually read it all the way through.
  3. A book that’s more than 600 pages – The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood.  I’ve read two of her books and love dystopian fiction, so I think I’ll give this one a try.  If it’s too dry, I’ll switch to A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin.  I’ve got the series on my book shelf, it was a gift, and haven’t read them yet.  Again, if I can’t get into that one either, I’ll reread Winter by Marissa Meyer.  I know I loved that one and will be able to get through all 600 pages.
  4. A book of poetry, a play, or an essay question – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child  by J.K. Rowling.  I just read/listened to the series this year, so I’d like to read this one.  My husband has absolutely no interest in reading it though.  I’m sure if I read it, he’ll ask what it’s about and everything.
  5. A book of any genre that addresses current event – The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas NTTBF.  This book comes out in February and the festival is in March, so I either read is QUICK or buy it there.  It is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement and the movie rights have already been sold to Fox, which is pretty impressive.
  6. An immigrant story – Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.  Yes, this is a stretch as an immigrant story.  A REAL stretch. But technically, Celaena has moved to another country/land.  I’ve started this book twice but haven’t finished it.
  7. A book published before you were born – Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton.  This was published the same year I was born, but since I was born at the end of December, I figured that was okay.
  8. Three books by the same author – The Mark of Athena, The House of Hades, and The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan.  I read the first series and the first book of the second series two years ago.  My husband loved these books and keeps telling me I need to finish them every time it is brought up, so I figured it is time to finish them.  I’m already 75% of the way through with the second one, so I’ll try to read the other ones this year.  Maybe even the other books he’s cranked out.
  9. A book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author – American Street by Ibi Zoboi NTTBF.  This looks really interesting!  I think it would be awesome to read it then hear the author speak, especially if she is from Haiti like her character is.  I took a lot of French classes in college and learned about Haiti and creole french, so I think I’ll like this, and I’d love to hear what the author has to say.
  10. A book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending – Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.  I’ve had this book for a long while.  I bought it because most people are supposed to read it in high school, and it’s a banned book.  I’ve had it for, like, five years, but haven’t read it yet.
  11. A book nominated for an award in 2017 – I’m not sure what I’ll read in this category.  I’ll probably wait until October and choose something that is nominated for a Goodreads award.
  12. A Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award winner –  All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.  I started the audiobook for this one but never finished it.  Also, a friend of mine read it and said it was awesome.

Extra Books I would like to read this year that don’t fall under the MMD Challenge:

  • The Memory Book by Lara Avery
  •   A Taste for Monsters by Matthew J. Kirby
  •    Heartless by Marissa Meyer

 

Do you all have any book suggestions?  Are you doing the MMD Challenge?  Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “2017 Reading Challenges!

Leave a Reply

